SCGL Chapter 10: Please Wait Quietly While Your Protagonist Is Coming to Save You

You should read this chapter over at Travis Translations – It’s free and the ad revenue is much better for me!

A certain day after about a month of gathering mold, I see my older brother walking inside with bruises all over his face. He first calls my name to confirm my location, and I answer, then he walks towards me, rubbing my head as usual. Then I ask, “what happened? Why are you all bruised over?”

“Oh, that.” He touches his nose, accidentally touching one of his wounds and his expression contorts, “your Zhu Jue is now out of prison.”

Since I’m not part of the plot here, so I don’t know the exact details either. But it’s probably about time. I fail to see how this is related to my older brother though, so I wait for him to speak. Then he says, “part of my plot is here, you know, as a boss when he is out. I have to go mock him. When he saw me, he just started slashing at me without saying anything. God knows what he got in that inheritance, but,” he pauses, then starts crying, “Mufeng, he punched my face and then cut my hair T.T”

I suddenly feel as if my older brother had his intelligence lowered…

It’s probably not my imagination.

So I could only try to patch up my older brother with the potions I carry. According to my observation Zhu Jue basically just punched him on the face. His normally handsome face is almost too hard to watch. While I’m patching him up he says, “but I didn’t lose either. I beat him up, also on his face, so he can’t get a girlfriend!”

My older brother’s intelligence is lowered, yup.

“He made you wounded too, and I can’t stand it! So I also broke his leg!”

My hands stop.

“Mufeng?”

I hit my older brother on the hand with some force. He goes ouch while holding his head, and sneaks a peek at me. I don’t know if he can see me at this distance with how nearsighted he is, but he seems to at least know he has done something wrong. He asks me in a tone full of pity, “… are you angry?”

“Why did you harm him.”

“Uuu… You don’t want your Da’ge anymore because of someone else…”

“Don’t act pitiful like that!”

“Uuu…” He holds his head as he sneaks a glance at me again, “Mufeng… he’s that important to you?”

“It’s not a question of whether or not he’s important. He’s still half a disciple of mine, so don’t bully him.”

“Then isn’t your older brother important…? Uuu…”

“Of course older brother is also important.”

“Mufeng…” So my older brother digs himself into my chest with all his snot and tears on him. I feel like my inner clean freak is going to go berserk, but if I push him away right now it seems a bit cruel. So I let him cry for half a day. I am worried about Zhu Jue, of course, but I can’t go see him like this in any case. If a character who’s supposed to have been kidnapped suddenly appears in the shadows and the protagonist caught a glance of it, then it’s definitely on the way to becoming a hidden final boss. If the plot goes in that direction then it would be bad. Whether I die or Zhu Jue die or everyone dies are all terrible ok? I can’t really bring myself to attack Zhu Jue if we had to fight, you know.

Mm. It might be an inherited trait from my master that I’d try to protect those under me like that. Master did like to tease me now and then, but if I were bullied he’d definitely go out and give it to the person who’d bullied me. Now that I think about it, my older brother is also being protective in any case.

So the whole thing ended up with my older brother having worded his way through it. While I do want to kick that face full of snot and tear out, I just use a hot towel to wipe it clean for him in the end. Even if he might look cool, imposing, wild, impressive and arrogant, my older brother has a childish personality. Most importantly, as far as I know, he still hasn’t found a girlfriend. How sad. Though apparently he did start feeling for someone, and recently he’s busy not because of all the affairs related to being a boss, but he’s just trying his best to woo my sister-in-law-to-be. I used to think he might act cluelessly at times but he still did his stuff well. Now I only think of him as being clueless all the time.

After that my entertainment everyday besides my cultivation is to examine how my older brother’s style changes every day. He’s recently started his fierce advances officially, but clearly the other person is not some kind or gentle person either, and every day my older brother returns bruised and injured. Last time when he was beaten by Zhu Jue he got so agitated, then now when it is my future sister-in-law-to-be he takes it without complaints. I did ask him about which girl it was that was so violent, then my older brother just starts crying like “waaaah” without saying anything else. Well I don’t know how he managed to grow up into a personality of crying with just a single poke, and in fact even most girls I’ve met had less tears than him. Sometimes even I couldn’t help but want to kick him in the face so that he’d man up. Maybe that’s what my sister-in-law is thinking as well…

So the days pass with me casually dithering about like that, for months, and almost a year is now gone. You know for people cultivating time passes by really quickly. To me, though, it’s not exactly that. No matter what, a year is still a year, and it’s long. So anyway, many days pass and one morning there is a loud bang that wakes me up by surprise. I realise that my part of the plot is here, even if it is completed only partially. I feel a bit unsafe, you know, and I’d hope the author would update more quickly, or it will be irritating to get stuck here. In any case, I can finally make the stage, so I’m still happy in any case. I actually didn’t have to do much either, and only needed to continue waiting here. I know Zhu Jue will come to find me.

So then this day finally arrives, the day when I get woken up by a sudden jolt while sleeping. I’m kind of used to the plot happily chugging along while I was sleeping. And I know that Zhu Jue is here for me.

It’s a good thing I’ve hidden all the furry dolls in the room beforehand. A person who’s kidnapped getting to enjoy a bunch of dolls and toys is kind of immersion breaking, and it will also damage my image.

I didn’t wait long until the protagonist is here. He seems to have grown older, you know, like teenagers in puberty do. Probably because he’s spent quite a while in the wilderness, he has a stubble on him. This base of my older brother is set up in a really remote mountain, so it’s not an easy location to discover. Besides him are Qiu Yu and several other ladies I have or have not seen before. I do know about where they come from, such as the prima donna of Vibrant Flowers Yinmei, Royal Princess Sixiang, female knight-errant Motan, and so on and so forth, all beautiful ladies. They’re not the focus here, though, the important thing is that Zhu Jue who appears messy and ragged immediately lunges at me and feels as if he’s trying to strangle me dead in his embrace. In any case both the ladies and I have quite the same surprised expression. Zhu Jue doesn’t seem to feel anything wrong, however. He puts his head next to my neck, saying, “found you.”

I don’t know what I should say, so I pat him on the head, saying Mm.

Then I almost got choked to death by Zhu Jue. He probably hasn’t got it into his head how much stronger he became after a whole year’s growth. He can no longer hug people tightly like a year ago. And as far as I can see, the ladies are looking at me in a more and more complicated expression.

So I pat Zhu Jue on the head again, saying, “that’s enough.”

Then he hugs me even tighter, “don’t you want to see me?”

“If you want to strangle me to death like that.”

Now is the time for the antagonist to come forth. So behind the ladies, my older brother wears an intricately-crafted and brilliant robe that he never wears normally and brings along a bunch of underlings I haven’t really seen before and appears. Zhu Jue raises his sword, and my older brother looks at him, opening his mouth to say, “…”

I didn’t hear what he said because Zhu Jue doesn’t give him the chance to. He throws out some tool or another and when I recover from the brilliant light the tool exuded I discover I’m somewhere else. I realise that Zhu Jue didn’t even think to follow the plot and instead he uses a tool he got somewhere to teleport everyone away. It is smart, I guess, but… this is not what is written on the plot!

The plot did end up with me being saved in reality, while it’s not as easy as he did, but it’s not that hard either. I thought it wouldn’t have been too much trouble for him. Though not to let the antagonist go on with his introductions and proclaim his opinion pieces is, kind of rude…?

I can almost picture my older brother who has prepared a whole bunch of stuff to say that ended up being useless and then mentally breaking down… I mustn’t laugh.

Zhu Jue probably hasn’t thought about that either. In fact, his expression looks as normal as ever, while his hands that are grabbing me have never let go yet. So I take a deep breath, and ask Zhu Jue, “will you not introduce these fair ladies here?”

He holds my hand tightly, “are you interested in them?”

“?”

Zhu Jue doesn’t continue asking, and instead turns around to look at the ladies, who have been looking this way all the time without saying anything. I know these are the ladies that are in Zhu Jue’s current harem. God knows how many ladies he’s deflowered by now. While I don’t like that setting of the plot, but there’s so many irrational settings in this world already. Zhu Jue then says, “Yinmei, Sixiang, Motan.”

Is this an introduction…?

Oh well, I know the ladies myself anyway, even if it’s just their settings and I don’t even know how they met. Let’s just assume the introduction has been completed. The ladies’ expressions are clearly not good either, looking at Zhu Jue with an expression that’s screaming ‘WTF.’ Zhu Jue still acts as if nothing’s wrong, and then says to me while holding my hand, “let’s leave here first.”

Alright then.

Prev | Index | Next

Buy me a coffee?
Donate via Paypal
Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

TL’s notes: Oh Zhu Jue, I know what you’re doing is rational and logical but… it’s really rude to all these poor side characters, haha.

Published by Oriental Rabbit

I'm a college student. Third year. Studying in Oz.

6 thoughts on “SCGL Chapter 10: Please Wait Quietly While Your Protagonist Is Coming to Save You

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started